



STORTINGET

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

29th EU - Norway Interparliamentary Meeting

26 February 2013 European Parliament, Brussels

JOINT PRESS RELEASE

The 29th EU-Norway Interparliamentary Meeting was held in the European Parliament in Brussels today.

The European Parliament (EP) delegation, led by **Mr Pat the Cope GALLAGHER** (chairperson, ALDE, Ireland), hosted the meeting with the Norwegian delegation, led by its chairperson **Ms Ine Marie ERIKSEN SØREIDE** (Conservative Party).

Both Delegations have considered the ongoing EEA review and expressed their satisfaction with the functioning of the EEA agreement, which has been the main basis for EU-Norway relations. The Delegations also exchanged views on several topics, including fisheries policy, trade relations, and foreign policy cooperation. The Delegations welcomed the decision by the EP to allocate to the Norwegian Parliament an office in the premises of the EP in Brussels, which will facilitate even closer and more regular contact between the two parliaments.

Moreover, the Interparliamentary Meeting was focused on the following topics in particular:

- Relations between the EU and Norway, including development of the EEA-relevant EU legislation, with addresses by:
 - H.E. Mr Atle LEIKVOLL, Ambassador, Mission of Norway to the EU;
 - **Ms Hilda Ó RIAIN**, Chair of the EFTA Working Party, Presidency-in-Office of the Council of the EU;
 - **Mr Gianluca GRIPPA**, Head of Western Europe Unit, European External Action Service
- EEA review, including the EU's relations with the Principality of Andorra, the Principality of Monaco and the Republic of San Marino
- Recent developments in EU-Norway trade relations
- Implications of the new EU financial supervision institutions for Norway
- Current developments related to fisheries, including the reform of the EU Common Fisheries Policy

• EU-Norway cooperation in relation to the CFSP and CSDP, including parliamentary scrutiny, developments in the Middle East and Arab Spring, and relations with the EU's Eastern Partnership countries (including Belarus, Ukraine and Georgia in particular) and Russia.

The next Interparliamentary Meeting is scheduled to take place in 2014 in Norway.

Members of the EP Delegation present:

Mr Pat the Cope GALLAGHER ALDE, Ireland (Chairperson)

Ms Anna HEDH, 1st Vice-chair S&D, Sweden

Mr Zuzana BRZOBOHATÁ S&D, Czech Republic

Ms Sidonia Elzbieta JEDRZEJEWSKA

Mr Paul RÜBIG

Ms Catherine STIHLER

Mr Theodor Dumitru STOLOJAN

Mr Indreh TARAND

Grang (ALE, Fo

Mr Indrek TARAND Greens/ALE, Estonia

Ms Isabelle THOMAS S&D, France Ms Angelika WERTHMANN ALDE, Austria

Other Members of the EP present:

Mr Bendt BENDTSEN EPP, Denmark
Mr Christofer FJELLNER EPP, Sweden
Mr Michael GAHLER EPP, Germany

Members of Stortinget Delegation present:

Ms Ine Marie ERIKSEN SØREIDE Conservative Party (**Chairperson**)
Mr Svein Roald HANSEN Labour Party (**First Deputy Chair**)

Mr Lars Peder BREKK

Mr Peter GITMARK

Conservative Party
Mr Morten HØGLUND

Mr Ivar KRISTIANSEN

Mr Peter N MYHRE

Mr Sverre MYRLI

Mr Tore NORDTUN

Centre Party
Conservative Party
Progress Party
Labour Party
Labour Party

For further information please contact:

Øystein BØ Stortinget (Norwegian Parliament) Tel. 00 47 23 31 35 13

Mob. 00 47 90 10 47 20 E-mail: <u>oyb@stortinget.no</u>

Tarvo KUNGLA European Parliament Tel. 00 32 2 283 2175

E-mail: tarvo.kungla@europarl.europa.eu

* * *

Abbreviations:

European People's Party Christian-Democratic Group Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe Greens/European Free Alliance EPP S&D ALDE/ADLE Greens/EFA