Do you want to know what a petition resolution is or what is meant by duty of disclosure? Here is a list of explanations of terms that are frequently used in the Norwegian Parliament.

Velg bokstav


  • general election

    the election of representatives to a legislature (in Norway, to the Storting) from constituencies throughout the country.
  • Government

    the Constitution states that the Government must consist of the prime minister and at least seven other members (cabinet ministers). The total number has varied somewhat; the current Government comprises 18 cabinet ministers in addition to the prime minister. The Government has executive power; it carries out the decisions taken in the Storting.
  • government agency (government body)

    an administrative unit within a particular sphere, subordinate to a ministry. For example, the Norwegian Labour and Welfare Administration (NAV) and the Norwegian Labour Inspection Authority (Arbeidstilsynet) are subordinate to the Ministry of Labour and Social Inclusion.
  • government crisis

    describes the situation after a government has tendered its resignation and before a new government has been formed. The crisis occurs when a government no longer has the support of a majority in the Storting and parliamentary practice obliges it to step down. Such situations arise when a motion of no confidence is passed, when a vote of confidence is lost, in cases of a negative majority, and after an election defeat.
  • green paper (Official Norwegian Report.)

    a thorough investigation into an issue or a field of responsibility prepared by a committee or commission appointed by the Government. It often forms the basis of a report or a proposition from the Government to the Storting.