Do you want to know what a petition resolution is or what is meant by duty of disclosure? Here is a list of explanations of terms that are frequently used in the Norwegian Parliament.

Velg bokstav


  • cabinet minister

    member of the Government. Cabinet ministers are summoned to the Storting when matters from their own ministry are to be dealt with in the Chamber.
  • casting vote

    in the event of a tie, the President uses his or her casting vote to settle the issue. Generally the President takes part in the vote under the same rules as all other Members.
  • central government administration

    the central administration of the state; the ministries.
  • coalition government

    a government that consists of members of two or more political parties.
  • compensation seat

    seats in the Storting that are assigned after an election to the parties that obtained a lower number of seats in relation to the overall number of votes they received. There are 19 compensation seats, one for each county.
  • constitution

    the set of rules about how a country is governed and the separation of power. Among other things, it also encompasses rules on the franchise (the right to vote) and human rights. The Norwegian Constitution was signed at Eidsvoll on 17 May 1814. The written Constitution is an important part of our constitution, as are the legal rules derived from long political practice (customary constitutional law).
  • constitution of the Storting

    the Storting assembles (has its first sitting) on the first weekday in October. When the Storting has elected its Presidents and Secretaries, the President declares the Storting lawfully constituted.
  • consulatation

    meeting for advice or guidance.
  • consultation letter

    a letter to all affected parties in which the Ministry asks for views and comments on a matter that is under consideration.
  • Council of State

    meeting of the Government during which official decisions are made.
  • countersignature

    In constitutional terms, the countersignature is the signature made by a cabinet minister in addition to the Head of State’s signature on such documents as Acts, regulations and appointments. The countersignature is usually a prerequisite for the validity of the document in question.
  • Court of Impeachment

    the court that makes judgements in cases brought against members of the Government, Storting or Supreme Court for serious misbehaviour in office. The Court of Impeachment comprises 11 members: 5 Supreme Court judges and 6 lay members appointed by the Storting. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court acts as President of the Court of Impeachment, the Storting in plenary session is the prosecuting authority, while the Standing Committee on Scrutiny and Constitutional Affairs is responsible for preparing the case. The Storting’s Accountability Select Committee makes the necessary enquiries to determine whether or not there are grounds for asserting constitutional responsibility against an individual. The Court of Impeachment is referred to in Articles 86-87 of the Constitution.
  • custom

    unwritten rules that are regarded as legally binding because they have been observed over time. Parliamentarianism was customary constitutional law until it became formally written into the Constitution on 20th February 2007.