Interparliamentary conference on EUs Common foreign, security and defence policy (CFSP/CSDP)

The EU flag.
The EU flag.

At their meeting in April 2012, the EU Speakers Conference set up at an Interparliamentary Conference for the EU Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the EU Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP).


The International Department is responsible for secretariat duties for the Storting’s Delegation to the Conference on EU Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the EU Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP).

Telephone: +47 23 31 30 50

Delegation members


Position Name Party
Head of Delegation Ms  Huitfeldt, Anniken Labour Party 
Deputy Head of Delegation Mr  Tetzschner, Michael Conservative Party  
Member Ms  Navarsete, Liv Signe  Centre Party 
Member Mr  Tybring-Gjedde, Christian  Progress Party    
Subsitute member Mr  Kolberg, Martin  Labour Party  
Subsitute member Mr  Lysbakken, Audun  Socialist Left Party  
Subsitute member Mr  Raja, Abid Q.  Liberal Party 
Subsitute member Ms  Schou, Ingjerd  Conservative Party   

Background information

The conference was established in the spirit of the Lisbon Treaty which strengthens the parliamentary dimension of the EU cooperation and has replaced the biannual EU meetings of chairpersons from the Standing Committees on foreign affairs and on defence. The establishment also reflects the closing of the parliamentary assembly of the Western European Union (WEU) when the WEU was dissolved 1 July 2011.The Conference is taking place twice a year and is normally hosted by the Country holding the sixth month’s presidency of the Council of the European Union. It consists of participants from the 28 EU Member States and the European Parliament. Countries that are candidates for membership to the EU as well as European non-EU NATO Members are observers to the conference.The Storting values the conference as a venue for contact with the EU on policy areas of great importance to Norway and where Norway has a close and comprehensive relationship with the EU.The Storting may participate with up to four members of the parliament. Further to this, the Storting has established a permanent delegation to the conference. The delegation consists of four members and four substitute members. The chair and first vice-chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign and Defence Policy are always members of the delegation.

Last updated: 23.11.2017 10:38